Sriram Janak – Photography

A song…

I heard a song, a morning as I walked…
It came on as I passed…a song from far away, about a lost love. At least so I imagined,
I didn’t understand the words,
only the melody.
But in the low notes I could hear the loss one had suffered.. And in the
high notes understood too that it was a song about
something that could never be.
I had not wept in years.
But I did, there and then, on the side of a dusty street,
surrounded by strangers.
The melody stayed with me for years….


   ~ ` ~ (adapted from The memory of love, by Aminatta Forna)

SRI_1597

11 responses

  1. What an emotive and suitable adaptation to accompany your story telling portraiture work,dear Sriram!The memory of love never fades my friend 🙂

    September 7, 2015 at 3:26 pm

  2. Such a moving story by A. Forna, Sriram, and a lovely post.

    September 9, 2015 at 5:27 am

  3. So different than your usual nature photos but so interesting! Beautiful words.

    September 12, 2015 at 7:06 am

  4. Thank you so much Dear Kat. Happy you liked it…:-)

    September 12, 2015 at 7:19 am

  5. Amy

    I can almost hear the melody through the portrait, it will stay with me for a long, long time…
    Thank you for the moving story, Master Sriram!

    September 12, 2015 at 7:33 am

    • Thank you Dear Amy..have a lovely weekend…:-)

      September 12, 2015 at 7:48 pm

  6. Emotion can always be expressed more deeply via the melody of a song dear Sriram. and I wonder to what melody this man has witnessed throughout his life.. Yet still he sits and plays, so that others too may enjoy the harmony of sound!..

    Wishing you well dear Siriram and a peaceful weekend ahead ..
    Blessings Sue x

    September 12, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    • very true Dear sue…:-) you too have a great weekend.
      Your blessings matter a lot to me
      take care
      sriram

      September 12, 2015 at 7:50 pm

      • Thank you Sriram xx Take care. xx

        September 12, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

